Fundraising for Cancer Research on the Cuillin Traverse

I’ll be frank. I always knew cancer sucked. When it hit my family I just had the confirmation I never wanted to have. But medicine has progressed immensely and will keep progressing if we keep believing in it and supporting it. It is as simple as that.

I love climbing and mountaineering. I’m not a great climber, nor am I a reckless one or a thrill seeker. I just love being in the mountains, exposed to their vastness, humbled by their age and solidity. It helps me put things in perspective.

When I first went to the Isle of Skye and I saw the superb Ridge that the Cuillin range forms I knew I had to attempt it. And the deal was sealed when my favourite mountain guide and friend Mark Walker (http://www.newroutesadventure.com) offered to guide me in the endeavour.

There is no particularly difficult technical pitch in the ridge. I don’t climb or lead on hard grades at all, the climbing pitches will be probably just outside my comfort zone. However, with its 12km of continuous exposed crest scrambling and 4000m of total ascent and descent, it is a tough route, and it might as well be the hardest mountaineering endeavour that I have done in my life so far. There is no guarantee that we will be able to complete it if only because we’ll need a good two day weather window (the route takes about 15 hours to complete plus 6 hours approach plus return, for a total of 30 hours, with a bivouac halfway through), something that can’t be taken for granted in the Scottish Highlands.

I will give progress updates on this blog and also on my Just Giving page, linking back to here.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Leave a Reply

